Sew Sunday Jul 8, 2018 – Is Reverse progress still progress?

What happens to this

wp-1517675077183662945642.jpg

when you put it down for several months??

My cousin Gail, of Gail’s Quilts, wrote a blog about why a project becomes a UFO. It’s a great post so be sure to read it if you haven’t already! She effectively captured a couple of (internal) conversations I’ve had with the “Autumn Leaves” quilt (my PHD #2), but even more apply to my PHD #4!

As of earlier this year, PHD #4 only needed to be sandwiched and quilted. Borders were on and backing was purchased.

20171220_095818.jpg

Unfortunately, I don’t have a picture of the flimsy with the borders on it. But it was the borders which were holding me back. At the time the flimsy was ready for borders, I got lazy and decided to pull something from my stash (which believe me can hardly be called a “stash”…it is EXTREMELY limited). Sew…I pulled black for a 2 1/2″ inner border and a strong yellow/gold for a wide (5 or 6”) outer border. I should have known I was in trouble when I did that, because picking a backing was even more difficult. I ended up buying some discounted backing from my LQS which was a black and white graphic pattern. Seriously…my choices went from bad to worse. It was quickly turning into a quilt that I was focusing on “getting done” rather than enjoying. And I knew that if I proceeded it would turn into a quilt which I would not want to gift to anyone.

Sew, I bit the bullet and removed the black and gold borders. Yup – If I’m gonna do it, I’m gonna do it right! I will provide more updates in future posts but for now, suffice to say my shoulders are already lighter!

After I spent an evening re-watching some Outlander episodes, and unsewing the borders on PHD#4, I picked up the Autumn Leaves quilt. It took me an entire evening (like … 4 or more hours) to figure out what the overall plan was, what I had done, what fabric was supposed to be used where, and where I needed to pick up. The next evening…I started up where I had left off. But…something was nagging…

I took a couple pictures with my phone and thought of the intended recipient and realized – it doesn’t work. It’s not right for the recipient’s personality.

Sew….Yup….I did it again! This time – every—-single—-block was entirely unsewn. And now this…

wp-1517675077183662945642.jpg

looks like this!!

20180704_215435

And I couldn’t be happier! It’s a much better fit. It was well worth the effort.

Sew…my lesson with this experience…”Done” is not necessarily better than “perfect”.

And…not to make this post too long, but I would be neglectful if I didn’t post the fact that I actually did get one quilt done-done-done. PHD #11 is a quilt I had planned for my son, Adam. During my first year of quilting I (of course) made quilts for all of my children for their birthdays. When it came to Adam, I was rushed for time and ran out of materials so I made him a “lap” quilt instead of a bed quilt. Given he’s 6’3″, the lap quilt barely covers his thighs. Always reminded me of Dr. Seuss’ Ned and his little bed…

Ned

Sew…SURPRISE! Adam’s new BED-SIZED quilt, called “Heros” is done!

Summary of my PHD list (7/12 Done):

  1. DONE – Dresden quilt – started Aug 2016 (May 21, 2018 post)
  2. Autumn leaves quilt – flimsy done, ripped apart – flimsy done – progress this period
  3. Feathered star quilt – one block made Sep 2017 – no progress this period
  4. Delectable Mountains quilt – ready to sandwich – Reverse progress this period
  5. DONE – Little Girl quilt – Jan 2018, gifted March 4, 2018
  6. Christmas quilt #2 – ready to sandwich – no progress this period
  7. Christmas quilt #3 – fabric purchased, pattern pending – no progress this period
  8. DONE – Winnie the Pooh baby quilt – (Jan 14, 2018 post)
  9. DONE – Bibs baby quilt – (Mar 18, 2018 post)
  10. DONE – Lewe the Ewe baby quilt – (Jan 14 post)
  11. DONE Secret quilt – For my Son, Adam – (Jul 8, 2018 Post)
  12. DONE – Blues quilt – (Apr 8, 2018 post)

Cheers all and I hope you enjoy your Sunday sewing!

Terry

Author: tlcquiltsblog

I started quilting June 2016 after the announcement that my first grandchild would arrive February 2017. It was an instant and complete addiction...in only wish I had started earlier.

12 thoughts on “Sew Sunday Jul 8, 2018 – Is Reverse progress still progress?”

  1. My goodness, you’ve been busy, Terry! I’ve been sitting here studying the metamorphosis of those quilt blocks, thinking you have the patience of Job. It would have killed me to take apart that leaf with the perfectly matched stripes, whatever the recipient thought. Still, the new version looks lovely! And, how lucky is Adam to be able to keep both his feet and his chest warm at the same time. The quilting on that quilt is beautiful, and I did giggle at the Dr. Seuss cartoon. Perfect!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Terry! Wow, great job on the leaves by turning it into a Hunter’s star. That looks fabulous! And your son’s quilt too – HAHA on that Dr. Seuss graphic. I’m impressed on how well you are doing on your UFO list! Happy Monday! ~smile~ Roseanne

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Roseanne. My son was happily surprised. I had him read my post and he thought the Dr Seuss reference was fitting too.
      I’m hoping to get through the next 2 on my PHD list and then concentrate on my feathered star quilt. I’m really looking forward to doing that one!
      Cheer
      Terry

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Terry, Yes, sometimes it is worth unsewing. I’m glad you’re happier with your scrappy star blocks over the leaves! The new one is sure pretty!
    And yeah!! Congratulations on finishing Adam’s quilt! I’m sure he’s thrilled!!!
    Happy Quilting! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Gail. Adam liked my post too.
      I am sew happy I changed the leaves quilt. I don’t think there is a single seam on that quilt that hasn’t been seen twice!
      Cheers
      Terry

      Like

Leave a comment