Sew Sundays – October 14, 2018 Playing Catchup!!

Hello my quilty friends.  Long time no..um…blog?

I know it’s been quite a while since I posted.  Life took a turn in July and it’s been difficult to keep on top of things.  I have managed to make time for quilting although even that is reduced.

I have somewhat of a backlog of updates, so without further adieu …

PHD #2 aka Autumn Leaves quilt is DONE.  I actually finished it in August.  It hasn’t been gifted yet so I will save the pictures for a future post, but suffice to say the Hunter Star pattern is now one of my favourites!  I simply adore how it looks and will be sure to make more of these in the future.

PHD #3 Feathered Star quilt:   My original idea for this quilt was to make several feathered stars with different, but complimentary, colour combinations.  The method to that madness was two-fold:

First, I would get practice making the feathered star; practice makes perfect.

Second, I would be able to see how different colour and value combinations change the look of the finished star.

After I made the second star, and was confident that it would compete with, not compliment, the first star and I realized my plan had to change course.  Coincidentally enough, during my summer Shop Hop I happened upon a copy of Eleanor Burns’ book “All Star Quilts”!  I never planned to make the variety of stars in that book, but it seemed like fate was telling me something.

And then fate told me something else…you didn’t buy enough fabric, silly.  And nope…couldn’t get more.  OK, let’s  call on my buddy, Mr. Improv.  Off to the fabric store, and many, many, MANY hours later, the flimsy is DONE!   I’m rather impressed with myself.  It was a great learning experience.  I will make more feathered stars in the future, but best of all – now that I have an actual pattern to follow, I’ll know how much fabric to buy!!

Sew…are you waiting for pictures?

I’m such a tease!  Well, I’ll give you one and make you wait for more…but not too long, cuz this baby is basted and ready for quilting.  Whoop Whoop!

20180902_214010

PHD #4 Delectable Mountains Quilt is DONE! “Mountain View” was just finished this week.

This labour of love tenacity was one that was taken apart and restarted.  I’m happy with the results but really struggled with quilting the actual mountains.  I wanted to  accentuate the mountains, but in the end I wasn’t successful at that goal.

 

PHD #6 Christmas quilt #2 is ready for quilting.  Don’t be too impressed at my progress…this one has been ready for quilting since January.

Pics?  Nope…I gotta give you some reason to come back to my blog!

And …not on my PHD list, but part of the PHD requirements (finish what you start) is a wee quilt for someone who loves cats.  I happened upon this fabric in June and couldn’t resist.  And then to make it even cuter, I found this cute mouse fabric to use for the backing!

Purrfection” is ready for gifting.

Finally…I need your help!

I will be ready to start piecing my last PHD quilt soon.  But, I can’t decide on a pattern.  It’s a Christmas quilt, and I know I want to do stars, preferably the kind which require flying geese.

Do you have any patterns that might work, especially one which you enjoyed making?  I’d love to hear from you!!

Summary of my PHD list (9/12 Done):

  1. DONE – Dresden quiltstarted Aug 2016 (May 21, 2018 post)
  2. DONE – Autumn leaves quilt – August 2018
  3. Feathered star quilt – Ready to FMQ
  4. DONE – Delectable Mountains quilt – October 2018 
  5. DONE – Little Girl quilt – Jan 2018, gifted March 4, 2018
  6. Christmas quilt #2 – Ready to FMQ
  7. Christmas quilt #3 – Looking for pattern suggestions!  🙂
  8. DONE – Winnie the Pooh baby quilt – (Jan 14, 2018 post)
  9. DONE – Bibs baby quilt – (Mar 18, 2018 post)
  10. DONE – Lewe the Ewe baby quilt – (Jan 14 post)
  11. DONE – Heros – July 2018
  12. DONE – Blues quilt – (Apr 8, 2018 post)

Cheers to all and I hope you Spend your Sundays Sewing!

Terry

 

 

 

 

Author: tlcquiltsblog

I started quilting June 2016 after the announcement that my first grandchild would arrive February 2017. It was an instant and complete addiction...in only wish I had started earlier.

6 thoughts on “Sew Sundays – October 14, 2018 Playing Catchup!!”

  1. Hi Terry! I’m happy to see an update fro you – I’ve missed you. You are doing a great job on your UFOs! Woohoo – you are definitely PHD bound. Your quilting on Purr-fection looks so nice and the quilt looks so quilty soft. I enjoy making a star quilt using a block called Evening Star. It’s a nine-patch center surrounded with a star, but the star was made from HSTs instead of flying geese. That’s not quite what you’re looking for. Good luck! ~smile~ Roseanne

    Like

    1. Thanks for the suggestion Roseanne. I’ve seen that star and it is lovely but not what I’m after. The fabric I have is all very similar in value. When I bought it I had an overall idea of going for a more monochromatic look. I still want that so I figure each star will use a single fabric rather than going scrappy.
      Thanks for the suggestion and cheers
      Terry

      Liked by 1 person

  2. They all look great, Terry!
    The feathered star is awesome! As for your mountains … the colours make them shine! And, I know Joan will LOVE Perfection!!!! How thoughtful of you to make a quilt for her!
    For Christmas #3 pattern … is there anything in “All Stars Quilt” that are what you’re looking for?
    Happy Quilting, Cuz! 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Gail
      I haven’t decided whether to give Joan her quilt for her birthday or for Christmas. At any rate, it’s not been gifted yet so..shhhh. 😉
      Good idea about re-using the stars in all star quilts. There might be one I can incorporate as an accent.
      There are a couple other stars that I am considering too.
      We will have to see what I come up with!
      Cheers
      Terry

      Like

Leave a comment